Skip to main content

Facebook Offering Facial Recognition Feature to All Users

 Facebook, the social networking giant, introduced the feature of facial recognition for the first time in December 2017. Now, this feature has been rolled out for all its users. However, the company has said that this capability will remain turned off until the user opts for it. This means Facebook will not notify a person about his photo being used or tagged on the web by someone unless he has given permission for the use of this feature of face recognition. If you are a regular user, you can contact Facebook support number to clarify your doubts.

In December 2017, Facebook offered this feature to some of its users. But now, face recognition has been offered to all existing and new users of Facebook. Individuals who do not have this feature in their account will get news alert from the company about its introduction. They will also get be given the option to turn it on or not.

Facial recognition is a technology that Facebook uses to alert its customers whenever the face of the customer is detected by the company on Facebook or elsewhere. It doesn’t matter whether this photo has been tagged or not. This technology can be useful in instances where someone tries to use the photo of another individual to make his profile photo. Facebook support service has been busy informing its users about this feature.

In recent past, Facebook received complaints from customers who said they felt uneasy because of this technology. They said that their presence at school, a concert, or a public place could easily be verified through face detection. In fact, cases of police department of many cities using this technology surfaced in the media, suggesting they were doing it in the hope of catching culprits in criminal cases. You might be surprised to know that in some cities like Oakland and San Francisco, departments including police have been banned from using the technology of face detection. This has been done by the authorities to keep control over surveillance by the government.

In fact, face recognition is a technology that has landed even Facebook into trouble recently. In a class action lawsuit that was filed against Facebook in a law court in Illinois; the company was accused of collecting biometric details of its customers without getting their consent. Users said that Facebook was using the technology of face recognition to gather biometric details in an unlawful manner. Illinois happens to be one of the states where companies are required by law to obtain prior consent from their customers before collecting any biometric details.

If you are one of those who remain worried about their privacy, this feature of face recognition could be useful for you. In this age of cyber crimes and frauds, you will be notified by Facebook as soon as someone uploads your photo anywhere on the web with or without your permission. You will have the option of either tagging yourself in the photo or asking the photo to be taken off if it is not appropriate. Of course, you need to turn on this feature in your Facebook account first.

more information : Bank of America Login

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Quick Tips on Data Backup & Backup Recovery

 Data backup and recovery is of massive importance for any business irrespective of its size and nature. This is why any business owner should not dare to take this process lightly. Any lapse on the part of the company and it can lead to massive losses both in terms of business and lost clients. Whether you are doing it with the help of a service provider or your own IT department, you must ensure that your data is being backed up and its recovery is possible quickly in real time. Many business owners do not know a thing about data backup and recovery and they even do not know where to turn to when they needdata backup & backup recovery help. Backups done on a daily basis Data loss can prove to be a disaster for a company. All operations come to a standstill and there can be a deluge of complaints and cancellation of orders. There are different ways in which a business can avoid likelihood of data loss. Daily data backup is one of the best lines of defence is to go for. If data i

Subsidized Hp Printers Only With Locked in Hp Print Supplies

 HP is one of the major players in the world of printers and print supplies. High quality printers are sold by the company at low prices. This  HP printer support  to the customers comes with the expectation that they will use print supplies made by the company. In fact, the bulk of the revenues for HP are generated through the sale of print supplies. Now the company has hinted a shift towards managed print business model that will make sure customers get printers at subsidized rates only if they fulfill their print supplies through the company. This business plan was disclosed by the executives of HP last week. According to this plan, HP printers at low prices will only be made available only if the customer agrees to purchase print supplies through HP partners. Customers not agreeing to this plan and using supplies form third party vendors will have to pay more for the same printers. This move by HP is being seen as a response to a decrease in its print supplies business. By signing

Netflix to Go Tough on Password Sharing

 A lot of Netflix consumers have reported receiving a message from the company on their screens saying they need their own account to continue watching Netflix if they do not live with the account owner. The company was getting information that more than 20% of its consumers were sharing their account passwords with friends to allow them to watch Netflix illegally. Realizing this practice cost Netflix a massive amount of money,  Netflix support  has decided to go tough on this habit of password sharing by its customers. A spokesperson of Netflix confirmed sending such messages to customers when talking with the BBC. He added that the basic aim of the company behind sending these messages is to make sure that only authorized customers are using their accounts. The spokesperson also said that this message was not being sent to all the customers and a decision in this regard will be taken soon by the company. The problem of password sharing stems from the fact that streaming companies al